2014 Hearthstone™ World Championship: Americas Qualifier Tournament – $250,000 Prize Pool

2014 Hearthstone™ World Championship: Americas Qualifier Tournament – $250,000 Prize Pool

The Hearthstone World Championship table has seats reserved for the best players in the world. Read the details and full rules for our Hearthstone Americas Qualifier Tournament here.

The Hearthstone World Championship will bring together some of Hearthstone’s best players from around the world for a climactic showdown at BlizzCon 2014! The Hearthstone World Championship will offer a total prize pool of $250,000, with the first place winner receiving a whopping $100,000!


Before that happens, there will be some friendly competition that will ultimately decide who will qualify to attend the Hearthstone World Championship with our Americas Qualifier Tournament. We’re ready to share the details of this tournament with you today!

How can I qualify for the Americas Qualifier Tournament?

There are a few ways to qualify. A total of 130 players will be participating in the Americas Qualifier Tournament:

  • Be a top 16 Legend player from Ranked Play in April, May, June, July, or August.
  • Top players from select community tournaments between April and August will be invited to participate in the Americas Qualifier Tournament. We will highlight those tournaments as well as how many qualifier spots are available in that tournament. A list of eligible community tournaments can be found here.
  • A Last Call Tournament will be held before the Americas Qualifier Tournament to determine any remaining qualifier spots, up to 130 participants. Players must be a resident of the countries noted below and must have achieved Legend rank on the Americas Ranked Play ladder at least one time between April and August. Players residing in these countries are eligible to participate in the Last Call Tournament for the Americas region: United States, Canada, Mexico, Australia, Japan, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Argentina, Brazil, Columbia, Costa Rica, and Chile.
  • Players cannot compete in multiple Qualifier Tournaments. If a player qualifies for multiple, they must choose one to compete in.

What can I expect at the Americas Qualifier Tournament?

The Americas Qualifier Tournament will have a total of 130 players and takes place in two phases. These 130 players will be matched against each other based on their cumulative placements in the Americas Ranked Play Rankings from April to August. The top 2 players with the highest cumulative placements will immediately advance to Phase 2 of the Tournament. Play your best each season!

All matches will follow a best of five “Last Hero Standing” format. Each player will bring three different decks to each match. If a deck is defeated during a game of the match, that player must change to a different deck for the next game of the match.

Phase 1 of the tournament will consist of “The Constructed Arena Phase.”

  • Players will be matched against each other in a Swiss format based on their initial seeding.
  • If a player loses three matches (not games) in Phase 1, that player will be eliminated from the tournament.
  • If a player ends a round of the Swiss format tournament with a +5 match record, that player will advance to Phase 2. (Match records are determined as Wins minus Losses. 5-0, 6-1, or 7-2 records are all considered +5 match records.)

Phase 2 of the tournament is the “Final Qualifying Round.”

  • In Phase 2 of the tournament, only 16 players will remain from the initial 130 participants.
  • Players will be randomly seeded into four tournament groups of four.
  • The top two players from each group are placed in an eight-player single elimination bracket.


The top four players will advance to the Hearthstone World Championships at BlizzCon 2014!

Hearthstone Qualifier Tournament Comprehensive Rules

Keep in mind that not all countries are eligible to participate in the Hearthstone World Championship or the Qualifier Tournaments. Please refer to the comprehensive rules below for a list of eligible countries.

For the comprehensive Americas Qualifier Tournament rules please go here.

For the European Qualifier Tournament rules please go here.

For the Taiwan Qualifier Tournament rules please go here.

For the China Qualifier Tournament rules, please go here.  

For the Korea Qualifier Tournament rules, please go here

We’ll see you at the Americas Qualifier Tournament table. A seat is waiting for you!